Why didn’t you ask?

I was never asked about it by you. There cannot be an answer if there was never a question. It’s been almost two years, and I’m curious as to how come you were never curious about it. Isn’t that odd?

In episode 9 of 13 Reasons Why the protagonist is horrified by the continuous silence by so-called friends and loved ones. But there’s always been a culture of silence – we don’t talk about things.

To be fair – that’s why I didn’t tell you in the first place. I didn’t have the answers to the questions, I thought at the time you’d ask.

What were you doing there? Were you drinking? or even worse a statement… We don’t believe you.

After you’d gotten over your shock, I’d wished you’d try to come to me.

Tell me the story when you are ready…

Are you okay? Are you okay…now?

Can I do anything?

Or was it my responsibility to come to you?

Having already survived, my fragility cannot be the concern. Is it because it’s messy? You’d rather not know the sordid details, your picture of me tainted even more than it was already. Perhaps you blame yourself – who knows what you discussed or think about late at night. Maybe it’s about keeping things private, dealing with it in the family – or just ensuring that you deal with it by yourself.

When you pray for me to be fixed… do you pray for this too?

You froze as I did 5 years ago. I didn’t fight back, and I feel that in this instance… I wasn’t fought for by you. You have another daughter, a second chance to do by right. Is she your first option if something ever should go horrifically wrong?

Leave a Reply

