Sit in gratitude

I was a bit of a dork last week and attended a Vision 2017 planning seminar. We had a limited amount to dig deep and realise what we wanted out of the year. My reasons for being there were simple – I didn’t need to define my goals, or know how to make them actionable… what I needed was a way to not feel so overwhelmed with my need to be consistently great, every single day of this new year.

We had to think back on a time that was most memorable – and IMG-20161207-WA0005.jpgI was completely blank. I stared hard at the page, struggling to remember anything, something that would give me inspiration. Suddenly it came to me – the month of October. The job I wanted had come through. I’d gotten accepted into my chosen honours degree program. We were on our way back from the spa, girls day out, buzzed on free champagne and with all this festivity I couldn’t let the celebrations end. I pulled over at the liquor store and bought two more bottles of pink bubbly, and we drank, danced and laughed on the balcony.

 

For the first time, in a very long time, I allowed myself – and felt that I could and should – celebrate. I don’t do that enough. I recognise how far I’ve come and how hard I’ve worked, but that usually just pushes me further and harder. I rarely celebrate, and I think that this year, I need to sit in gratitude and enjoy my life and where I am currently.

So I’m going to take the time to laugh a little. Love a little. And be thankful for every opportunities that come my way.

IMG-20161230-WA0024.jpg

‘Thank you’ is the best prayer that anyone could say. I say that one a lot. Thank you expresses extreme gratitude, humility, understanding – Alice Walker

Leave a Reply

