November Rain in the middle of June

#WeBloggers Weekly Challenge

Find a song outside of your music comfort zone… something alternative and underground and write about it. It has to be something that resonates with you. 

So Guns N Roses is hardly alternative and underground but in my music world, it is so far out of my comfort zone that it was worth a mention when I heard this song for the first time this week.

When I look into your eyes
I can see a love restrained
But darlin’ when I hold you
Don’t you know I feel the same

‘Cause nothin’ lasts forever
And we both know hearts can change
And it’s hard to hold a candle
In the cold November rain

This week for me has been turmoil – I didn’t know if I was coming or going. From exes haunting me to sleepless nights worrying about work and finances – waking up to get through my 9 to 5 seemed so futile. It was a tough week, a lonely one. But it was also one of enlightenment.

Have you ever been present as it starts to rain? Present in the sense of standing beneath greying clouds. The first drop falls on you and you dismiss it as your imagination. You continue with what you were doing, until another heavy drop catches your attention. And then another and another. What had started out as something so cautious turns into a pattern of droplets vying for your attentions. And you have to take notice, and make that decision to run inside or allow yourself to be cried upon.

It’s cold, and it can chill you to the bone but also the pure feeling of water massaging your skin is worth embracing too.

He started to creep into my life, one little droplet at a time. It would have been smart of me to grab an umbrella as I was prone to do, or run – run inside. But I’m taking a chance and standing out in the rain again. I may get sick with cold once the rain passes on but with the rain also comes growth of something new and strong and powerful and I’m excited to see what that may mean for me. It’s scary but I promised myself this year that I would be fearless.

Don’t ya think that you need somebody
Don’t ya think that you need someone
Everybody needs somebody
You’re not the only one
You’re not the only one

Leave a Reply

