Digital Nomad: Einstein got it wrong…

It has become appallingly clear that our technology has surpassed our humanity. I hope that someday, our humanity might yet surpass our technology. – Albert Einstein

I’m sitting in The Common Room, with what looks like the most anti-social group of people ever. Its silent aside from the incessant typing- you can actually hear the dramatic thud of the enter key being smacked with satisfaction. 9 people huddled over their lap tops, you would think you’d walked into a LAN party… all that’s missing are the ironic t-shirts. Aside from the not talking, which at any typical time would be quite rude, you would swear that we were the loneliest, uncommunicative group of people out there.

Einstein thinks (from wherever scientists go when they die) we’ve lost our humanity- that technology and our thirst to know more has completely over powered genuine human interaction. To this, I completely disagree. Our humanity has just evolved into something he didn’t realise at the time. And if he was feeling guilty about creating the atomic bomb which would inevitably wipe out Japan, he should of first off NOT invented the damn thing and secondly kept his moral baggage to himself.

However, since he is a man of science, let my put forward my evidence as to why we are connected as humans more than ever. I’m not quite sure what my fellow blogathoners (it’s a real word, look it up) are doing but I happen to be on my phone messaging my work and emailing them, tweeting about the blogathon and the soccer, typing up documents and peeping over Lutz’s shoulder to watch live updates of Germany vs Ghana (we’re winning by the way). I’m connected to hundreds of people at any given second.

But maybe Mallory, you would say, Einstein was talking about humanity as a virtue. Is not the idea of blogging and social networks aimed at befriending people? If I poke you, will you not like me more. If I follow you, will you not gain some measure of happiness and friendship like feelings from it? Obviously I’m talking about from a Facebook and Twitter context, not me acting like a deranged stalker.

Why I say our interaction has involved is that our need to connect has reached its pinnacle in this era with this desire for social interaction so desperate, we must be completely integrated into each others lives at any given moment. Human interaction, humanity, the collective have transcended stagnant communication and become digital nomads. As individuals we use whatever tools we have to talk, chat, meet and invest in communication. We have become digital nomads. Our sharing our lives is not tied down to any particular venue or routine or ettiquite. You wouldn’t know if I was writing from my desk or my toilet. And once on the beach while surfing seems like a great ambition to have on my digital nomadic path.

I’d never heard of the term “Digital Nomad” before until today at Elance’s first ever Blogathon. But it seems a legitimate and positive form of identity to have:

So Bertie, what do you have to say to that?

einstein-famous-quote

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

…well that’s a cop out.

 

 

One thought on “Digital Nomad: Einstein got it wrong…

  1. I loved reading this, well done on an excellent piece of writing. Last night was fun but I’m shy and didn’t connect much with the others there, what a pity, I would love to attach a face to this post

Leave a Reply

