A Brand New Day

My grandmother said I never should
Play with black boys in my hood
They will kiss you, they will lie
Love you, leave you, make you cry.

But I did, knowing she’d say
“Bad girl, why didn’t you obey?
Your heart is broken,  you’re not fine
You my girl will hurt for a long time”

And dear grandfather knew what I did
Ruffled my hair,  “that’s life kid
The grass is wet,  the sky is grey
We are nearing the month of May.

I looked out at sea, to rough to cross
I felt deeply my great loss
I turned away
Began to pray
Told myself tomorrow is a brand new day

Leave a Reply

