Book Review: A Bantu in my Bathroom

I considered myself a bad friend for not having gotten to Eusebius Mckaiser’s book sooner. In all honesty I was a bit hesitant. There is always a possibility that even admiration of a good friend who is constantly in the public eye and who I’m very much proud of, can be warped into a reluctant disappointment when you read verbose, narcissistic ramblings.

I was even more hesitant by the fact that seemingly EVERYONE at Primedia (owners of 702 Talk Radio and Highveld) was writing or just completing some sort of memoir- but not everyone can be that relevant can they?

I’m glad to say that I was wrong. A bantu in my bathroom was more than a wonderful piece of written work, it affirmed and questioned my very thinking from my identity as a coloured woman in South Africa, to my mostly-African dating style to even my sexual history and sexuality. Eusebius dealt with issues in a balanced and more importantly personal matter, which made me connect with him on a whole other level than I’d done before. I found myself crying and sharing his anguish as I read about his brutal past. His story was my story. His story was many South African citizens’ stories.

Now that I’ve started working for Powerfm, the new Gauteng station, I realise how important it is to be able to tell a story and to have people connect with it. Different stories can affect different people, but we all share the same capacity for pain and joy. I want to tell people’s stories, and have the courage to connect it with my own. Honesty and compassion is how we will once again build South Africa.

Leave a Reply

